Evaluation: Question 1

Here is my podcast I have made answering Evaluation Question 1. I chose to do a podcast because I believe that an unedited and unstructured piece would work well when answering this question as it makes the feedback a lot personal:

During my overview of the podcast, I quickly realised that I did not comment on the feedback I got back from my ancillaries. Again, I asked people within my demographic of what went well about both ancillaries and what would they like to change. From this, I could gather a qualitative data response and allowed me to reflect on my work.

Ancillary 1- Double page spread

Feedback comments:

Frank: “I like the simplicity of the documentary double page spread, the use of the black and white colours worked really well with relation to the image, it is very easy to look at. I also like the structure of the spread and the image chosen”

“I believe that the only thing you could improve upon in the documentary double page spread is that maybe it is too simplistic? It would only fit within a certain magazine rather than any, if you needed publicity on it, I don’t think it would do it justice”

Charlotte: “I really like how you have picked a cute image to use for this double page spread, with relation to how simplistic the page is, it works well as it is the first thing that you stare at when first coming across the page”

“The only aspect I would say to improve on is the amount of text on the page, despite the fact that it is an interview, I would have tried to sell your product a lot more than you did”

Arnold: “I like how basic this double page spread is, it is very easy to over do it and over sell the documentary. After viewing your documentary, I believe that your running theme of basic perfection is shown throughout your final product and this ancillary, so it therefore relates back very nicely”

“I would say that possibly you could add more images and information in however, it is very basic which is great but it might be too basic that people skip past it when flicking through its magazine, maybe add some colour so that it is more eye-catching”

From the comments, it is easy to see that the respondents really liked the image I used was the highlight of the double page spread as it was seen to be very a nostalgic, happy and heartwarming photo. Also from the audience feedback, you are able to see that the respondence really liked my unconventional approach to a simplistic, basic double page spread. From the audience feedback, if I was to remake my magazine spread, I would ensure that I took that feedback on board and kept the theme as it has managed to pay off in the long run. Despite this, from the feedback I did take, it is clear that there are a few problems with it too. For example; it is clear that respondents would like more text to be placed on the page and more colour to appear as they feel as if the page is very easy to skip past if it was within. From this feedback, if I was to redo my spread, I would use a lot more blue tones within the spread as it links with my other ancillary very well and would make it a lot more eye-catching and high-quality.

Ancillary 2- Channel 4 Advert

Feedback comments:

Ronan: “I really like the way this follows the guidelines well for the channel 4 advertisements, I would have honestly thought that this was a real one! I really like the blue colours you’ve used, its very eye catching”

“I would say possible use the face of George and Brenda so that audiences can recognise the interviewees’ more”

Izzie: “I really like the way this honestly can relate so well to the real media channel 4 posters, I really like the colour of the blue used and I especially like the way you have not given much aeay but have through metaphors”

“You could possibly do better in this by possibly using different text or using a catchier tagline?”

Shae: “I like the way that the poster is looked at, its really nice to stare at as the photo is very clear and every detail is presented so nicely. I like the range of blues in the photo and I like how they all combine together”

“I would say that without knowing what this documentary is about or understanding the metaphor of that image that it might not grab an audience as much as you’d hope it would so you need a strong tagline to do that for you”

From the comments, it is easy to see that the respondents really liked the way in which I adapted to the channel 4 standards well as they repeatedly said that they would have thought it was real if I didn’t tell them otherwise. Also from the audience feedback, you are able to see that the respondence really liked my metaphorical approach to a simplistic yet over-riding photo that can suggest a variety of aspects about the documentary- for instance: the clock symbolises passage of time. From the audience feedback, if I was to remake my poster, I would ensure that I took that feedback on board and kept the theme as it is now as it has paid off quite well as it visually follows the codes and conventions very well. Despite this, from the feedback I did take, it is clear that there are a few problems with it too. For example; the tagline is not strong enough without not knowing the reason why it is ‘a new reality’, as the photo is so metaphorical and simplistic, I would need too go through stronger tag lines and get audience feedback on each one.


Target audience research I did:

PRE-PRODUCTION:

  • 3 different demographics
  • Questionnaire
  • Live Feedback
  • Statistical feedback (questionnaire data)

PRODUCTION:

  • Camera test shots (all 4 productions) – what went well, even better if
  • Mic Test 1 and 2- what went well, even better if
  • Music mock up- what went well, even better if

POST-PRODUCTION

  • Questionnaire (including open questions to gain qualitative data)
  • Live feedback (family members of Brenda and George)
  • Ancillaries: range of people to comment on what they believe went well and even better if
Leave a Reply

